Captains Cup


On the morning of Friday, the 9th of September at 07.57,  the first members of SICG took their stand by the club banners for their photo call before moving on to the first tee box.


The first to drive off into the early morning sunshine were three ladies, Hazel Padgett, Katrina Iho and Margaret Morrison. The first three drives were watched by the waiting queue  of golfers and they set the standard for the day. 
Over the following two hours, flights of four balls took off from the first tee in the continuing beautiful sunshine and the Captains Day was well and truly under way.
In just under one hour and 35 minutes,(well one hour and 32 minutes to be precise ) the first golfing group made their way onto the 9th tee box to be greeted by Yvonne Nevin and Breege O Connell where they were served with Cheese and ham rolls, Sangria, White wines, beer water and some well deserved  chocolate. There was great chat and banter a o get golfers at the half way house and food and drinks were were served up with smiles and words of encouragement for the next two hours.
Captain Brendan travelled up and down the course crossing the fairways and the rough chatting and encouraging the players.
It was late in the afternoon when the last four ball arrived at the clubhouse where Lars and Captain Brendan were standing by to receive the cards. A few thirst quenching wines and beers were consumed and then members moved off to get ready to go to the Captains Dinner that evening.
The sun continued to shine as members met at the clubhouse at Pinta at 7 pm for drinks and canapés and chat on the terrace where once again there was great banter and stories about missed putts, long drives and who had won the coveted trophy, but that was Alan Winstanley’s secret, yet to be revealed! 
Dinner was called at 8pm.
As members took their places at the dinner tables, Captain Brendan welcomed everyone to the dinner and outlined the running order for the night.
President Tom Callan was called on to say grace and Tom delivered in his usual inimitable style.
After dinner and as coffee was being served, Brendan and Tom announced the winners for the day.
First and winner of the captains Trophy 2022 Paulo A. Azevedo : 41 points
Second place: David Morrison : 38 points
Third Place : Ilkka Katko : 37 points.
Nearest the pin ladies Katrina Iho
Nearest the pin men Ilkka Katko
After the winners announcements, there were some further  prizes presented to those members who had a lucky red X on their place cards and then we moved on to the table quiz with some great fun and laughter  prizes for the correct answers. 
A round of applause was given to two members who received particular mention, Tom O Neill who celebrated his 80th birthday on a Tuesday and then went on to win the medal on the following Friday and also Heli Ives who was presented with a special winners shirt for her 5th medal win.
After the prize giving and announcements members took to the floor to the music of Vitor, and danced the night away until close to midnight. Just before the bewitching hour, the chariots were called and revellers made their way home ( hopefully) to a well earned rest after a long and exciting day.